- the #1 guide for student affairs professionals

Join our email list and stay informed with periodic updates & occasional discounts.
Safe Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS Feed for Job Listings
Find on Facebook Follow StudentAffairs on Twitter

2015 Virtual Case Study Competition (VCS)

The Fighting Leathernecks Reign Supreme!

Western Illinois University The judges have made their choices and the winners have been announced for our 14th annual contest. All final submissions, along with a write-up of the case studies, will be published in the Spring edition of "The Journal of Technology in Student Affairs". This year we received 29 team submissions from 20 separate schools. Emily Simon, Michelle Hutchison, and Christi Reed from Western Illinois University won top honors. Hathiya Chea, Ashley Dorsey, and Timothy J. Maggio from Shepherd University placed second. Andrew A. Johnson, Ronni Williams, Cassandra Spencer, and Joshua Cauble from Western Carolina University earned third place.

DID YOU KNOW? Western Illinois is the only public school in the U.S. that has permission through the Department of the Navy to use the United States Marine Corps official seal, mascot (the bulldog) and nickname, The Fighting Leathernecks.

Western Illinois University 1st Place: Western Illinois University
Emily Simon, Michelle Hutchison, Christi Reed
$150 awarded to each team member

Shepherd University 2nd Place: Shepherd University
Hathiya Chea, Ashley Dorsey, Timothy J. Maggio
$100 to each team member

Western Carolina University 3rd Place: Western Carolina University
Andrew A Johnson, Ronni Williams, Cassandra Spencer, Joshua Cauble
$50 awarded to each team member


Arkansas Tech University
Ball State University
California State University, Fullerton
Clemson University
Indiana State University
Florida State University
Kutztown University
Miami University
Nova Southeastern University
Shepherd University
Stephen F. Austin
Texas A&M
University of Nebraska - Omaha
UNC - Wilmington
University of Vermont
Western Carolina University
Western Illinois University
Western Kentucky University
Western Michigan University

Check out all the videos on our YouTube channel at
Links to individual team submission materials are available in the Spring 2015 edition of The Journal of Technology in Student Affairs.

Rules & Guidelines

2016 WINNER:
Clemson University

Clemson University
Nilza Santana
Suzanne Jasmine
Bianca Lambert
Sarah Beth Potter

2016 Clemson
2015 Western Illinois
2014 Indiana State
2013 Western Michigan
2012 St. Cloud State
2011 Western Kentucky
2010 Ok.State/Western Ill
2009 NC State/Ok.State
2008 Baylor
2007 Florida State
2006 Indiana
2005 Florida Int'l
2004 Syracuse
2003 Loyola
2002 Georgia Southern